Conference Agenda

22nd Annual VA Psychology Leadership Conference

Promoting Quality, Integrated Care for All Veterans

Sponsored by APA, the Association of VA Psychologist Leaders (AVAPL) and APA Division 18-Psychologists in Public Service

May 28 – 31, 2019
The Westin Riverwalk

420 W. Market Street
San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone: 210. 224.6500

Pre-Conference: Tuesday, May 28, 2019

8:00 am – 5:00 pm APA Site Visitor Training
(Separate Registration)
Room TBA
5:00 pm – 6:00 pm Registration and Reception
Navarro Ballroom Lobby
6:30 pm – 9:30 pm Dinner: Celebration of Russell Lemle's Retirement
Room TBA

Conference Day 1: Wednesday, May 29, 2019
Navarro Ballroom

7:00 am – 8:00 am
     7:15 am – 8:00 am
Continental Breakfast
     Welcome Breakfast (optional)
     Introduction to the Conference
8:00 am – 8:10 am Welcome and Overview
Mike Martin, Ph.D.
Psychology Executive
Atlanta VA HCS
8:10 am – 9:00 am Opening Invited Address
Richard A. Stone, M.D.
Executive in Charge
Veterans Health Administration
9:00 am – 10:00 am Veterans Service Organization Panel
10:00 am – 10:15 am Brief Break
10:15 am – 11:15 am Care in the Community and MISSION Act Implementation
Kameron Matthews, MD, JD, FAAFP
Deputy Undersecretary for Health for Community Care VHA
11:15 am – 12:15 pm Breakouts – Session A
Breakout 1 (Navarro)
Women in Leadership

Breakout 2 (Villa)
Kaily A. Cannizzaro, Psy.D.
Rocky Mountain MIRECC for Suicide Prevention

Breakout 3 (Madero)

Breakout 4 (Zapata)
Update from the Midwinter AVAPL Meeting

Tracey Smith, Ph.D.
Associate Director for Improving Clinical Care
South Central MIRECC
President, AVAPL

Mary Beth Shea, Ph.D.
Director of Training, Orlando VAMC
Past-President, AVAPL
Genevieve Davis, Ph.D.
Staff Psychologist
Western Telemental Health Network (VISN 20)
Secretary, AVAPL
Samuel Wan, Ph.D.
Training Director, Postdoctoral Fellowship Program
San Francisco VA Health Care System
President-Elect, AVAPL
12:15 pm – 1:45 pm Networking Lunches (1.5 hours) TENTATIVE
Women in Leadership (Navarro)
General Lunch Area (Villa)
Early Career Psychologists (Zapata)
Mid-Career Psychologists (Madero)
1:45 pm – 2:45 pm Breakouts – Session A
Topics Repeated

(See previous descriptions and room locations)
2:45 pm – 3:45 pm Invited Presentation - Diversity Issues
3:45 pm – 4:00 pm Brief Break
4:00 pm – 4:45 pm Invited Presentation
Update on Psychology Training
Ken Jones, Ph.D. Director
Associated Health Education
Office of Academic Affiliation
4:45 pm – 5:30 pm Update from the Office of Mental Health and Suicide Prevention
David Carroll, Ph.D.
Executive Director
Office of Mental Health and Suicide Prevention, VA Central Office
5:30 pm – 6:30 pm Social Hour/Poster Session 1&2
Navarro Ballroom Lobby

Conference Day 2: Thursday, May 30, 2019
Navarro Ballroom

7:00 am – 8:00 am Continental Breakfast (Navarro)    
        Job Networking Breakfast (Villa)
8:00 am – 8:15 am Welcome and Housekeeping
8:15 am – 9:15 am Keynote Address
APA Presidential Address - Tentative
9:15 am – 10:15 am Invited Presentation
A View from Washington: Update on APA's Veterans Advocacy (tentative)

Heather O'Beirne Kelly, Ph.D.
Director, Military and Veterans Health Policy
American Psychological Association
10:15 am – 10:30 am Brief Break
10:30 am – 11:15 am Invited Presentation
Whole Health Implementation in the VA
Jennifer Patterson, PhD
Senior Whole Health Consultant – Deployment and Field Implementation
VHA Office of Patient Centered Care and Cultural Transformation
11:15 am – 12:15 pm Breakouts - Session B
Breakout 1 (Navarro)
Managing Up While Managing Improvement: Leading Change Through Integrated and Coordinated Care
Gayle Iwamasa, Ph.D.
Matt Moore, Ph.D.
Theresa Schmitz, Ph.D.
John W. Klocek, Ph.D.
Claire Collie, Ph.D.
Jay L. Cohen, Ph.D.
Marcia Hunt, Ph.D.
VHA National Mental Health Technical Assistance Specialist Team
Office of Mental Health and Suicide Prevention

Breakout 2 (Villa)
Diversity Issues

Breakout 3 (Madero)
VHA Geriatric MH Field Advisory Committee Update
 Kristen H. Sorocco, PhD
Oklahoma City VA Health Care System

Breakout 4 (Zapata)
Psychology Training Topic TBA
12:15 pm – 1:45 pm Networking Lunches (1.5 hours) TENTATIVE
General Lunch Area (Navarro)
     (Includes Residential and other special topic

Psychology Training (Madero)
Advocacy (Villa)
Psychologists of Color and Allies (Zapata)
1:45 pm – 2:45 pm Breakout – Session B
Topics Repeated

(See previous descriptions and room locations)
2:45 pm – 3:00 pm Brief Break
3:00 pm – 4:00 pm Invited Panel (Open Plenary)
Best Practices from the Field
4:00 pm – 5:00 pm Provider Safety Presentation and Discussion
Clifford Smith, Ph.D., ABPP
Director, Field Support and Analytics
Office of Mental Health and Suicide Prevention
Russell B. Lemle, Ph.D.
Psychology Director
San Francisco VA Health Care System
Lynn M. Van Male, Ph.D., CTM
Director, VHA Workplace Violence Prevention Program
Office of Mental Health and Suicide Prevention
4:45 pm – 5:15 pm Presentation of the Russell B. Lemle and Patrick DeLeon Awards
5:15 pm – 6:00 pm Closing Remarks and Open Discussion

CE Workshop Day: Friday, May 31, 2019
Navarro Ballroom

7:30 am - 8:00 am Continental Breakfast
8:00 am - 3:45 pm
(45-minute break for lunch at noon and two 15-minute breaks)
Continuing Education Workshop
Suicide Prevention Technique
Megan McCarthy, Ph.D.
Veterans Crisis Line
National Care Coordinator

The presenters have reported no conflicts of interest or commercial support for this program.

Division 18 – Psychologists in Public Service – of the American Psychological Association is the continuing education sponsor for this VA Psychology Leadership Conference.   Division 18 is approved by the American Psychological Association to sponsor continuing education for psychologists.  Division 18 maintains responsibility for this program and its contents. This conference has been approved for 12 hours of continuing education credit. The Saturday Workshop has been approved for an additional 6 hours of continuing education credit. Participants must attend all portions of the conference and/or workshop to obtain continuing education credit. For information about the conference, please contact Mike Martin, Ph.D., (404) 321-6111 x4354. For any complaints or grievances about this CE event, please contact Dr. Abigail Tucker via email at

APA Approved Sponsor logo